Name that mountain flower

I’ll pick up where I left off last week – back in Xinjiang Province where we were exploring the amazing city of Kashgar on the third day of our tour – in the next entry. But first I want to do one more quick post from our hike through Tiger Leaping Gorge.

I mentioned we didn’t have the best weather for our hike. I think the views of the mountains and valleys would have been even more spectacular if we’d gotten some sun while we were walking, but the Gorge was plenty pretty, even as it was swathed in wreaths of fog and cloud. Having less of a view into the distance also kept my attention closer to the trail, and there was so much smaller-scale beauty to enjoy there.

One of the highlights of the hike for me was all the gorgeous plant life there was to discover and enjoy. Between the temperatures and the colors, things felt very fall-like. Autumn is my favorite season, so after all those months of steamy tropics, I was eating up the end-of-season colors on display in the mountains.

Even with winter approaching, with the leaves beginning to turn and the farm lands full of dried out stalks of corn, there was an abundance of incredible flowers (and other plant-life) on display along the path. The colors and variety were amazing. Some I recognized, some looked like cousins of plants I know from home, some were new to me.

Here are some of the favorites that I “collected” along the way. If there are any plant experts out there who can fill me in on the names or species, I would love to hear from you! ๐Ÿ™‚

There were these lovely, little, bright wild marigolds all over the place. Loved them!

No clue what this one might be… ๐Ÿ™‚

The delicate pink of these berries was so pretty

Fall colors!

 

Maybe a foxglove relative?

This one reminds me of edelweiss

I should know the name of this one but I forget. ๐Ÿ˜› The blue was amazingly vibrant!

Funky pine cones!

More incredible blue

Leave a Reply

