A lazy girl’s post: The Incas on Youtube

I’ve been neglecting the blog lately.

We’ve been busy, and all the movement and activity and amazing things to see and take in have been catching up with us – I’ve been TIRED.

I think things culminated yesterday during the train ride from Cuzco to Aguas Calientes – by the time we arrived my stomach was NOT a happy camper and I spent the rest of the day curled up in a ball on the bed, sleeping and futzing around on the internet when actually conscious.

Not the most spectacular start to our Machu Picchu adventure, but I’m excited none the less. πŸ™‚

We’re about a thousand meters below Cuzco, and arid desert plateau climate has given way to lush jungle terrain. It’s been ages since we’ve been anywhere tropical feeling and it’s getting me excited – regardless of how pukey I feel.

When I was awake yesterday, I also got myself going with Inca and Machu Picchu documentaries – who knew there was so much free, quality stuff on Youtube (ok, I realize I am late to the party πŸ˜‰ ). We’re going to attempt to do a half day visit today – we’ll see how my stomach feels about things – and so in honor of that, here are some documentaries courtesy of the miracle that is the internet, in case you feel like getting juiced up about ancient Incan civilizations along with me. πŸ™‚

This one is a little cheesy, but I enjoyed it because it includes a lot of sites that we’ve already visited, like the AMAZING salinas (used to produce salt since Incan times!) and the Moray terraces.

 

This one is older, and shows scientists trying to recreate Incan techniques of masonry and bridge building. Nerdy but interesting. πŸ™‚

 

And this one is a “Cold Case” style documentary, where scientists examine recently discovered Incan bodies to recreate a crucial event in Incan/conquistador history. Well done and interesting.

One thought on “A lazy girl’s post: The Incas on Youtube

Leave a Reply

